Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.)

DESCRIPTION: Anti-inflammatory phytonutrients in berries may explain why cherries can speed recovery after a marathon by reducing muscle pain in long-distance runners.

How about improving athletic performance more directly? See my video series on performance-enhancing vegetables described in my blog Using Greens to Improve Athletic Performance (http://nutritionfacts.org/2012/03/22/using-greens-to-improve-athletic-performance/).

What about reducing the immediate burning sensation during strenuous exercise? See my last video Reducing Muscle Fatigue with Citrus (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/reducing-muscle-fatigue-with-citrus/).

Mushrooms (Boosting Immunity While Reducing Inflammation, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/boosting-immunity-while-reducing-inflammation/), nuts (Fighting Inflammation in a Nut Shell, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fighting-inflammation-in-a-nut-shell/), and purple potatoes (Anti-Inflammatory Effects of Purple Potatoes, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-inflammatory-effects-of-purple-potatoes/) may also reduce inflammation (along with plant foods in general, see Anti-Inflammatory Antioxidants, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-inflammatory-antioxidants/, and Aspirin Levels in Plant Foods, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/aspirin-levels-in-plant-foods/). They may reduce it so much so that plant-based diets can be used to treat inflammatory conditions. See, for example, Dietary Treatment of Crohn’s Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/achieving-remission-of-crohns-disease/), Diet & Rheumatoid Arthritis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diet-rheumatoid-arthritis/), and Potassium and Autoimmune Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/potassium-and-autoimmune-disease/). Animal products on the other hand (paw?), may increase inflammation through a variety of mechanisms, including endotoxins (How Does Meat Cause Inflammation?, http://nutritionfacts.org/2012/09/20/why-meat-causes-inflammation/), arachidonic acid (Chicken, Eggs, and Inflammation, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/chicken-eggs-and-inflammation/), and Neu5Gc (The Inflammatory Meat Molecule Neu5Gc, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-inflammatory-meat-molecule-neu5gc/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/reducing-muscle-soreness-with-berries/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Google+: https://plus.google.com/+NutritionfactsOrgMD
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Please follow and like us:

Did you try this? Did it solve your problem?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>